If you`re not sure if your child needs a booster seat, you can take the 5-step test developed by Safety Belt Safe U.S.A. in www.carseat.org. A: Georgian law considers vehicles without rear seats. Across the country, car accidents are the leading cause of death for children aged 3 to 14. Research shows that the risk of injury and death decreases significantly when a child uses a car seat. For this reason, many states, including Georgia, have introduced mandatory car seat laws. Most cars and trucks in Georgia are considered passenger cars. A passenger car can carry 10 people or less. As for child passengers, Georgian law divides them into 2 groups: Children injured in car accidents – including car, truck and motorcycle accidents – often suffer injuries compared to other adults or elderly people who were also in the vehicle. Despite compliance with Georgian car seat laws, we have seen significant injuries in these cases where a child has suffered: in the case of a child who is not old enough to sit in front, but who is 4`9″ or taller and weighs 40 pounds or more, he can wear a normal seat belt without the need for another belt or seat device.
A child seat that is properly secured and adapted to your child`s age, height and weight is the best protection you can offer your child on the road. If the school bus used to transport your child to Headstart is a standard school system bus, this is not covered by this legislation. Note that it is the driver of the vehicle – not necessarily the parent – who must provide a child restraint system and ensure that children are properly seated in the seat. Place the booster seat on the back seat of your vehicle for installation and make sure it lies flat on the vehicle seat and is not reclined or turned. Let your child sit in the booster seat, place the seat belt on your child`s body and fasten it. If you`re planning a family trip to Georgia, it`s important that you meet (or exceed) local child passenger safety laws. For more information on Georgia`s car seat laws, see Georgia`s car seat laws. Georgia`s booster seat laws apply to children up to the age of 8 OR 4`9.” Be sure to follow the manufacturer`s minimum and maximum size requirements for your booster seat – most manufacturers now require you to be at least 4 years old, 40″ tall and 40 pounds.
Increase your safety Booster seats are the most overlooked part of car seat safety. The goal of a booster seat is to reduce the risk of injury by properly adjusting the seat belt. Booster seats are recommended for children ages 4 to 7 who are less than 4 feet 9 inches tall. Most children do not fit properly into an adult seat belt until they are 10-12 years old, when they pass the 5-step test. For children aged 8 to 17 years, these passengers are allowed to sit in the front seat of the vehicle with seat belts and must wear a seat belt, whether they are in the front, rear or rear (3rd row vehicle). If you, your child, or a loved one are injured in a car, truck, or motorcycle accident in Georgia, you`ll likely have an uphill battle with the other party, parties, or their insurance company(s). At Scholle Law, our personal injury lawyers in Duluth fully understand Georgian law when it comes to being involved in an accident. We know that you will have questions and we understand that there will be problems that will need to be explained to you carefully. Rear-facing seat: Children should be kept rearward facing for as long as possible. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that children remain backward-facing for at least two years. However, it is ideal to hold a child facing back until they reach the height and weight limits for this position. In Georgia, children only have to stay rearward facing until they are 12 months old.
For free installation and inspection, please contact your local fire department. You can also find inspection stations in your area by visiting www.seatcheck.org or calling 1-866-SEATCHECK (866-732-8243) or by checking the NHTSA inspection site list. Some manufacturers allow children to move their face forward as early as 1 year old as long as they weigh at least 22 pounds, while other manufacturers require toddlers to be at least 2 years old to move the face forward.